1answer.
Ask question
Login Signup
Ask question
All categories
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Social Studies
  • Business
  • History
  • Health
  • Geography
  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Computers and Technology
  • Arts
  • World Languages
  • Spanish
  • French
  • German
  • Advanced Placement (AP)
  • SAT
  • Medicine
  • Law
  • Engineering
RSB [31]
2 years ago
10

Consider a firm which produces T-shirts according to Q = L^0.5, where Q denotes output and L is labor input. The domestic wage i

s w = 2. The firm can sell its output for a given price of p = 1.
(a) Determine the profit-maximizing labor input and the profit of the firm.
Business
1 answer:
Luden [163]2 years ago
4 0

From the calculation below, the profit-maximizing labor input is 0.0625, and the profit of the firm is 0.125.

<h3>How do we determine profit-maximizing labor input and profit?</h3>

From the question, we can obtain:

R = Revenue = Q*P = L^0.5 * 1 = L^0.5

C = Cost = w * L = 2L

P = Profit = R - C = L^0.5 - 2L

To obtain the profit-maximizing labor input, the first derivative of P is taken, equated to zero, and we solve for L as follows:

P' = 0.5L^-0.5 - 2 = 0

0.5L^-0.5 = 2

L^-0.5 = 2 / 0.5

L^-0.5 = 4

L^(-0.5/-0.5) = 4^(-1/0.5)

L = 0.0625 ----> profit-maximizing labor input

The profit (P) of the firm can now be calculated by substituting L = 0.0625 into the P function as follows:

P =  0.0625^0.5 - (2 * 0.0625) = 0.125 --------> Profit of the firm

Learn more about profit function here: brainly.com/question/16866047.

#SPJ1

You might be interested in
Will today's second generation of immigrants move up the occupational ladder?
Ket [755]
No not if Donald Trump becomes president he is sending all imagrants back and he wants all white schools so
7 0
4 years ago
________ are more effective at generating recall and familiarity with a product, whereas ________ generate cognitive activity th
ANEK [815]

Answer:

The correct answer is letter "C": Pictorial cues; verbal cues.

Explanation:

Marketing uses different approaches to attract consumers' attention. When it comes to portraying images, advertising can implement pictorial cues to create a depth sensation on two-dimensional surfaces like flyers. Though, a verbal cue is necessary as well to provide the information the promotion is intended to transmit. That data can let the audience know what the advantages and disadvantages of the product promoted are.

8 0
3 years ago
Janet, a manager at hollyoak systems, is known for her passionate and people-friendly ways. janet knows all her employees well a
PtichkaEL [24]
Based on the scenario above, Janet can be regarded as an Free-rein learder. Janet has the authority style where subordinates are not straightforwardly managed and rather should work on possess and demonstrate their value through achievements. No particular supervisory criteria must be met.
3 0
3 years ago
Read 2 more answers
A company’s production budget requires the following units of a single product for the upcoming year: 1st quarter 60,000 units 2
maks197457 [2]

Answer:

165,000 pounds

Explanation:

A Purchase Budget is required to determine the quantities and cost of purchases required for use in production.

Materials Purchase Budget for Second Quarter (Pounds)

Budgeted Production Materials (80,000 x 2)                    160,000

Add Budgeted Closing Materials (90,000 x 2 x 25%)        45,000

Total Materials                                                                     205,000

Less Budgeted Opening Materials (80,000 x 2 x 25%)    (40,000)

Budgeted Material Purchase (pounds)                               165,000

Therefore,

Budgeted purchases of material for the second quarter would be 165,000 pounds

8 0
3 years ago
A marketing campaign to target business travelers includes two advertising buys. One buy cost $4,600 and yielded 220 leads. The
Korvikt [17]

Answer:

$20.90 & $14.88

Explanation:

The average cost per lead is the marketing expense incurred to acquire a new potential customer.  The average cost per or CPL is calculated using the formula total marketing spend / total number of leads. CPL helps identify the most efficient advertising channel.

For the first advertising buy, average cost per lead

=$4,600/220

=$20.90

For the second advertising buy

=$6700/450

=$14.88

3 0
3 years ago
Other questions:
  • Black owned and resided on the premises at 1803 North Monroe Street in the city of Lawn. He had purchased the house from Green i
    5·1 answer
  • Vandalay Industries manufactures two products: toasters and blenders. The annual production and sales of toasters is 2100 units,
    5·1 answer
  • 25-Which of the following is the BEST indicator of the economic​ well-being of the average​ citizen?
    8·2 answers
  • The inefficiency associated with monopoly is due to a the monopoly's profits. b the monopoly's losses. c overproduction of the g
    9·1 answer
  • Economic costs of production differ from accounting costs in that
    12·1 answer
  • If an organization does not develop programs in-house, then the development group of the information system (IS) department will
    7·2 answers
  • Merle Corporation applies manufacturing overhead to products on the basis of standard machine-hours. For the most recent month,
    5·1 answer
  • CORRECT ANSWERS ONLY!
    7·1 answer
  • The long run aggregate supply curve shifts to the right given that
    13·1 answer
  • How much do actors make in a year?
    13·2 answers
Add answer
Login
Not registered? Fast signup
Signup
Login Signup
Ask question!