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Inessa [10]
3 years ago
9

Use the following method to calculate the yearly depreciation allowances and book values for a firm that has purchased $150,000

worth of office equipment that qualifies as depreciation property. The equipment is estimated to have a salvage (market) value of $30,000 (20% of the original cost) after the end of its 10-year depreciable life.
a. Straight line
b. MACRS
c. Sum-of-Years' Digits
Business
1 answer:
Dafna1 [17]3 years ago
3 0

Answer:

a. Straight Line Method Depreciation= $ 2400

b. MACRS

c. Sum-of-Years' Digits

Explanation:

a. Straight Line Method Depreciation=

Purchase Cost- Salvage Value/ No of useful life *depreciation rate

=$ 150,000- $30,000/10 * 20%

=120,000/10* 20%= 12000* 20/100=$ 2400

b. MACRS

Since it is a non-form 10-year property, the company can elect to use either the 150% or 200% declining balance method.

Depreciation in 1st Year = Cost × 1/Useful Life × A × Depreciation Convention

Depreciation in Subsequent Years =

(Cost − Depreciation in Previous Years) × 1/ Recovery Period × A

Where,

A is 100% or 150% or 200%.

Depreciation for the the first year $ 150,000/10 *200%= $30,000

Depreciation for the the 2nd year =$ 150,000-30,000/10 *200%= $24,000

Depreciation for the the third year =$ 150,000-30,000- 24000/10 *200%

=$ 19,200

Depreciation for the the 4th year $ 150,000-30,000-24000-19200/10 *200%=  Note A

Note A: MACRS declining balance changes to straight-line method when that method provides an equal or greater deduction. Deduction under 200% declining balance MACRS for 4th year  would be $ 153,600 ($150000 - $30,000 - $24000 - $19200  × 1/10 × 200%. This is greater than depreciation under straight line method .

c. Sum-of-Years' Digits Method Depreciation

Depreciation Amount = Acquisition Cost - Salvage Value = $ 120,000

Sum of useful life= 10+9+8+7+6+5+4+3+2+1= 55

Depreciation Factor = 10/55, 9/55, 8/55, 7/55 etc.

Depreciation for the 1st year= 10/55* 120,000= $ 21,818.2

Depreciation for the 2nd year= 9/55* 120,000= $ 19 636.4

Depreciation for the 3rd year= 8/55* 120,000=  $17,546

Depreciation for the 4th year= 7/55* 120,000=  $ 15,273

Depreciation for the 5th year= 6/55* 120,000= $ 13,091

Depreciation for the 6th year= 5/55* 120,000= $ 10,909.1

Depreciation for the 7th year= 4/55* 120,000= $ 8727.3

Depreciation for the 8th year= 3/55* 120,000=  $ 6545.5

Depreciation for the 9th year= 2/55* 120,000=  $4363.63

Depreciation for the 10th year= 1/55* 120,000= $ 2181.81

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The work breakdown structure provides a basis for creating the project schedule and performing earned value management for measuring and forecasting project performance. A work breakdown structure is also known as WBS- which helps break down the team's work into smaller, more manageable sections. By breaking down the sections into smaller groups gives more opportunity for completion before moving on to the next group and makes the tasks more managable.

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3 years ago
An investor purchased 100 shares of stock X at \small 6\frac{1}{8} dollars per share and sold them all a year later at 24 dollar
Salsk061 [2.6K]

Answer:

option (C) 280%

Explanation:

Number of shares of stock X purchased = 100

Purchasing cost of share = \$6\frac{1}{8} =\frac{49}{8}

Selling cost of stocks = $24 per share

Brokerage paid = 2%

Now,

The total purchasing cost involved = 100\times\frac{49}{8} + 2% of 100\times\frac{49}{8}

= 612.5 + 0.02 × 612.5

= $624.75

also,

Total income from sales of stocks

= Total selling cost of shares - brokerage paid

= $24 × 100 - 2% of Total selling cost

= $2400 - ( 0.02 × $2400 )

= $2400 - $48

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now,

The investor's percent gain on this investment = \frac{\textup{Income-invested amount}}{\textup{Invested amount}}\times100\%

= \frac{\textup{2,352 - 624.75}}{\textup{624.75}}\times100\%

= \frac{\textup{1727.25}}{\textup{624.75}}\times100\%

= 276.47% ≈ 280%

Hence, the correct answer is option (C) 280%

7 0
3 years ago
Marshmellow Corporation sells a product for $140 per unit. The product's current sales are 12,500 units and its break-even sales
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Answer:

c. 10%

Explanation:

Margin of safety is the sales value at which the business is safe from making loss. It measures the profit after the break-even point. The sales over the break-even point is considered as the margin of safety.

Margin of safety = Actual Sales - Break-even point = 12,500 units - 11,250 units = 1250 units

Percentage of margin of safety to sales = Margin of safety / Actual sales

Percentage of margin of safety to sales = 1,250 / 12,500

Percentage of margin of safety to sales = 0.10

Percentage of margin of safety to sales = 10%

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3 years ago
Granite State Airlines serves the route between New York and Portsmouth, NH, with a single-flight-daily 100-seat aircraft. The o
TEA [102]

Answer:

Given data: One flight with total seats = 100

Full fare passengers, cost per ticket=$150, mean=56 passengers, SD=23

Discount fare passengers, cost per ticket=$100, mean=88 passengers, SD=44

(a) Here, though there is a hint to use the CDF, since the confidence interval is not given we will make some simplying assumptions that will reduce the complexity of the question, of course keeping the question statistically correct.

this question wants us to maximize total revenue per flight (one way), we can do that by taking only full fare passengers or total revenue will be 150*100=$15,000, but since historical probability shows a mean of 56 with a standard deviation of 23, we can assume in best case scenario total full fare ticket passengers will be 56+23=79, leaving 21 tickets for discount passenger, in this case the total revenues will be 79*150+21*100=$13,950

(b) Now, the new constrained policy is giving a clear cut number of seats to each category of pasengers, 44 for discount (total revenues 44*100) and 56 for full fare (total revenues 56*150) both of which are within the probabilities given earlier (full fare mean=56, discount mean=88). Total revenues in case will be 44*100+56*150=$12,800.

(c) Gain is the difference of the excess revenues in both cases of optimal total revenues and limited seats policy or answer (a) - answer (b) = $13,950- $12,800=$1,150

(d) Realistically speaking, there is no answer for this question without a clear cut confidence interval. Another simplifying assumption we can make here is taking the mean passengers as expected bookings (can be tweaked once confidence interval or degree of significance is given). so total revenues in this case will be 44*100 from discount and 56*150 from full fare passengers. That is still similar to answer (c) due to our assumption/lack of constraints, so our optimal booking will be 54 full fare tickets and 44 discount passenger tickets. You can also take worst case scenario by subtracting SD of each passenger type from the mean or go the best case scenario in which SD of full fare will be added to the mean while the pending seats (left over from 100) will be the total to discount fare for optimal revenue collection.

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4 years ago
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Answer:

Split-off point:

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Selling price at the split off point                            16               8        25

Incremental revenue per pound or gallon             4               5         7

Total quarterly output in pounds or gallons     $15,000    $20,000    $4,000

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Total incremental processing costs              $63,000   $80,000  $36,000

Total incremental profit or (loss)                       ($3,000) $20,000  ($8,000)

Therefore the products A and C are need to be sold at the split off point and he product B should be processed further to earn good profits.  

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