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tiny-mole [99]
3 years ago
8

EcoFabrics has budgeted overhead costs of $945,000. It has allocated overhead on a plantwide basis to its two products (wool and

cotton) using direct labor hours which are estimated to be 450,000 for the current year. The company has decided to experiment with activity-based costing and has created two activity cost pools and related activity cost drivers. These two cost pools are cutting (cost driver is machine hours) and design (cost driver is number of setups). Overhead allocated to the cutting cost pool is $360,000, and $585,000 is allocated to the design cost pool.Additional information related to these pools is as follows:Machine hours wool: 100,000Number of set ups wool: 1,000Machine hours cotton: 100,000Number of set ups cotton: 500Machine hours total: 200,000Number of setups total: 1,500The amount of overhead allocated to the wool product line and the cotton product line using activity-based costing & traditional approach is as follows:ABC wool: $570,000Traditional wool: $472,500ABC cotton: $375,000Traditional cotton: $472,500Required:How does allocation using the traditional approach compare with the amount allocated using ABC?
Business
1 answer:
rjkz [21]3 years ago
8 0

Answer:

The main advantage of using ABC costing method is that it is more exact than traditional costing, and overhead costs are generally allocated on different basis (cost drivers) which results in a more fair distribution.  

In this case, overhead costs allocated based solely on direct labor hours might be over or under stated since certain manufacturing procedures might require a lot of labor but few machines, while others might require few labor and a lot of machines.

Cutting is done mostly by machines while design is done mostly by employees. Allocating cutting overhead costs based on machine hours makes sense. Since both wool and cotton require the same amount of machine hours, cutting costs are allocated equally between them.

On the other hand, design is carried out by employees, so allocating design costs based on set ups (which is also carried out by employees) makes sense. That is why most of design costs are allocated to wool (wool requires 67% of setups).

Before under the traditional method, overhead costs were allocated evenly, but once we start allocating them based on more real cost drivers, the total amounts change.

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deff fn [24]

Answer: D) gain the attention of the consumer.

Explanation:

The first and foremost thing is marketing is to gain the attention of the consumer. This is why Adverts usually start with something eye catching and then move on to explain the product.

All other steps in the marketing process including development of brand awareness cannot be implemented if the consumer's attention is not gained.

The first and foremost goal of marketing in simple terms therefore is to first grab their curiosity then gain their attention.

6 0
3 years ago
Craig's collected $15,000 from customers for games played in july. craig's sold bowling merchandise inventory from its pro shop
tekilochka [14]

Answer:

cash 15,000 debit

  account receivables 15,000 credit

cash  3,000 debit

A/R    5,000 debit

  service revenue 8,000 credit

COGS  6,800 debit

   Merchandise   6,800 credit

Cash  4,000 debit

 A/R               4,000 credit

Cash   2,500 debit

  *unearned revenue   2,500 credit

**utilties payable   800 debit

       cash                   800 credit

salaries expense 3,500 debit

      cash                      3,500 debit

***prepaid expene        375  debit

prepaid insurance   1,125  debit

     cash                             1,500 credit

repairs expense      700 debit

      cash                           700 credit

utilities expense      900 debit

   utilities payable            900 credit

Explanation:

We will record following the debit = credit rule

* It will be considered unearned revenue as we didn'0t perform the services we have the obligation to do so therefore, it is a liability.

**as the expense was recorded previously a payable was created to recognize the obligation to pay our utilities. Therefore, we write-off the payable

*** 1,500 is the full contract value for 4 months:

1,500 / 4 = 375 per month

one most is declared as expense and the remainder as prepaid.

7 0
3 years ago
Which statement below best describes the accounting equation? Multiple Choice The change in retained earnings equals net income
8_murik_8 [283]

Answer:

The correct answer is Resources of the company equal creditors' and owners' claims to those resources.

Explanation:

It can be used to determine that the income or income of the consumer is exactly equal to the expense (purchase) of goods, for the determined period of consumption. In other words, by adding the value spent on the acquisition of goods "x" and goods "y". To have such values it is enough to multiply the number of possible units to acquire - in each of the points - by their respective price and then add them; This can be done at any point in the price line.

4 0
3 years ago
A marketing campaign to target business travelers includes two advertising buys. One buy cost $4,600 and yielded 220 leads. The
Korvikt [17]

Answer:

$20.90 & $14.88

Explanation:

The average cost per lead is the marketing expense incurred to acquire a new potential customer.  The average cost per or CPL is calculated using the formula total marketing spend / total number of leads. CPL helps identify the most efficient advertising channel.

For the first advertising buy, average cost per lead

=$4,600/220

=$20.90

For the second advertising buy

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3 0
3 years ago
Roanoke Company produces chocolate bars. The primary materials used in producing chocolate bars are cocoa, sugar, and milk. The
Dafna1 [17]

Answer:

Roanoke Company

The standard direct materials cost per bar of chocolate is:

= $0.33.

Explanation:

a) Data and Calculations:

A batch of chocolate = 1,827 bars

Standard Costs for a batch:

Ingredient   Quantity      Price

Cocoa          600 lbs.    $0.40 per lb.

Sugar            180 lbs.    $0.60 per lb.

Milk              150 gal.      $1.70 per gal.

Ingredient   Quantity      Price                 Total Cost

Cocoa          600 lbs.    $0.40 per lb.      $240.00 (600 * $0.40)

Sugar            180 lbs.    $0.60 per lb.         108.00 (180 * $0.60)

Milk              150 gal.      $1.70 per gal.     255.00 (150 * $1.70)

Total cost of batch of chocolate =         $603.00

Cost per bar = $0.33 ($603.00/1,827)

5 0
2 years ago
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