The correct answer is D.
Giving the following information:
In 2016, Carow sold 3,000 units, at $500 each. Variable expenses were $250 per unit, and fixed expenses were $500,000.
The same selling price is expected for 2017. Carow is tentatively planning to invest in equipment, that would increase fixed costs by 20% while decreasing variable costs per unit by 20%.
First, we need to calculate the ner fixed and variable costs:
Fixed costs= 500,000*1.20= $600,000
Variable costs= 250*0.8= $200
Now, we can calculate the break-even point:
Break-even point= fixed costs/ contribution margin
Break-even point= 600,000 / (500 - 200)= 2,000 units