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Jlenok [28]
3 years ago
12

Intangible Assets and Goodwill: Amortization and Impairment In early 2011, Bowen Company acquired a new business unit in a merge

r. Allocation of the acquisition cost resulted in fair values assigned as follows:
Intangible Asset Fair Value Estimated Value
Customer lists $400,000 5 years
Developed technology 640,000 10 years
Internet domain name 1,040,000 Indefinite
Goodwill 4,960,000 Indefinite

The goodwill is assigned entirely to the acquired business unit. Impairment reviews at the end of 2011 and 2012 did not identify any impairment losses. After the business suffered a downturn during 2013, the year-end impairment review yielded the following information: Customer lists are estimated to have undiscounted future cash flows of $200,000 and discounted future cash flows of $144,000.

The internet domain name is estimated to have undiscounted future cash flows of $800,000 and discounted future cash flows of $600,000. The acquired business unit has a fair value of $13,600,000, a carrying amount of $14,800,000, and the fair value of its identifiable net assets is $11,360,000.

Required:
Determine Bowen's amortization expense and impairment write-offs for 2013.
Business
1 answer:
lianna [129]3 years ago
6 0
I thinks the answer is 400,000 jp I jags need more answers
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Cyber Security Systems had sales of 4,600 units at $65 per unit last year. The marketing manager projects a 30 percent increase
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Answer:

Net dollar sales projection for this year =   516,971.00

Explanation:

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130%× 4,600= 5,980units

<em>Project selling price</em>

=140% × $65

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<em>Net dollar sales projection</em>

=  Total sales value -  Returned merchandise

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=  $ 516,971.00

Net dollar sales projection for this year =   516,971.00

3 0
3 years ago
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5 0
3 years ago
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Volgvan

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3 0
2 years ago
Suppose Czech businessmen began purchasing American properties. How would this impact the foreign exchange market for the koruna
Yanka [14]

Answer:

B. Appreciate / Depreciate / Decrease

Explanation:

If the businessmen want to purchase some American Properties them will need to exchange the Koruna by the Dollar, it means Sell Koruna to buy dollar,which is,  increase the Koruna supply and increase the demand by dollars.

It exchange will appreciate the dollar value because of an increase in the Dollar demand as the supply keeps at the same level.

While the Czech Koruna will see its price decrease because of the increase in the supply of Koruna while the demand of Koruna keeps at the same level,

In the meantime, the American Export see their market negatively affected by the increase in the dollar price, as the dollar increase its value and will be more difficult to the Americens sell their products to the rest of the world, because others countries need more money for each dollar.

4 0
3 years ago
Wolsey Industries Inc. expects to maintain the same inventories at the end of 2016 as at the beginning of the year. The total of
iogann1982 [59]

Answer:

Wolsey Industries Inc.

A. Estimated Income Statement for year ended December 31, 2016

Sales Revenue                                           $4,320,000

Cost of goods sold                                      3,062,000

Gross profit                                                $1,258,000

Expenses:

7. Sales salaries and  commissions 326,000

8 Advertising                                      40,000

9 Travel                                               12,000

10 Miscellaneous selling                    34,600

11 Administrative expenses:

12 Office and officers’ salaries       132,000

13 Supplies                                       118,000

14 Miscellaneous administrative      40,400  $703,000

Net income                                                    $555,000

B. Expected Contribution Margin ratio = 25%

C. Break-even sales in units and dollars:

Sales in units:  13,125

Sales in dollars:  $2,100,000

D.  The break-even sales is 13,125 units and $2,100,000

E. The expected margin of safety:

Sales dollars:   $2,220,000

Percentage of Sales: 48.6% ($2,100,000/$4,320,000)

F. Operating leverage: = Contribution/Net operating income

= $1,080,000/$555,000 = 1.95

Explanation:

a) Data and Calculations:

1                                                 Estimated           Estimated

                                                 Fixed Cost     Variable Cost (per unit sold)

2 Production costs:

3 Direct materials                             —                  $46.00

4 Direct labor                                    —                    40.00

5 Factory overhead                $200,000.00          20.00

6 Selling expenses:

7 Sales salaries and

commissions                               110,000.00            8.00

8 Advertising                               40,000.00             —

9 Travel                                        12,000.00             —

10 Miscellaneous selling

expense                                         7,600.00             1.00

11 Administrative expenses:

12 Office and officers’ salaries 132,000.00               —

13 Supplies                                  10,000.00             4.00

14 Miscellaneous administrative

expense                                      13,400.00              1.00

15 Total                                 $525,000.00       $120.00

Selling price per unit = $160

Sales volume = 27,000 units

Sales revenue = $4,320,000 ($160 * 27,000)

Variable production cost = $106 per unit

Total variable production costs = $2,862,000 ($106 * 27,000)

Fixed production cost =                     200,000

Total production cost =                $3,062,000

                                                   Total          Per Unit

Sales revenue =                    $4,320,000    $160

Variable production costs = $2,862,000      106

Variable expenses                     378,000         14

Total variable costs              $3,240,000    $120

Contribution =                       $1,080,000      $40

Contribution margin ratio = 25% ($40/$160 * 100)

Total fixed costs:

Production costs = $200,000

Selling and admin = 325,000

Total fixed costs = $525,000

Break-even point = Fixed costs/Contribution margin per unit

= $525,000/$40 = 13,125

Break-even point in dollars = $525,000/25% = $2,100,000

7. Sales salaries and  commissions 326,000  (110,000.00 + (27,000 * 8.00))

8 Advertising                                      40,000

9 Travel                                               12,000

10 Miscellaneous selling

expense                                             34,600 (7,600.00 + (27,000 * 1.00))

11 Administrative expenses:

12 Office and officers’ salaries       132,000

13 Supplies                                       118,000 (10,000.00 + (27,000 * 4.00))

14 Miscellaneous administrative

expense                                          40,400 (13,400.00 + (27,000 * 1.00))

5 0
3 years ago
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